The metal button issue

If you ever wondered about 14th century buttons in Italy…

There are several finds of metal buttons from the 14th century, but no surviving garment  with metal buttons, from this period. At least none that I know of.

I have often considered the best way to sew these buttons on to a garment. They have really long “necks”. Why? Are they sewn directly onto the fabric edge, or are they attached the way people put metal buttons on folk costumes in the 19th century? Besides, the 19th century is way too late a period to look at when making 14th century outfits.

When I made my checkered dress I was shown a picture of metal buttons on a 16th or 17th century coat. I can’t remember where that picture came from. 😦
Anyway, I did the same thing on my buttoned dress as was done on the 16th/17th century coat.

This is how it’s done.
IMG_1691-0.JPG

IMG_1690-0.JPG

IMG_1692-0.JPG
The thread/ leather strap…

View original post 118 more words

Leave a Reply

